An Embarrassment of Riches…


Think of the typical gaming group.   You get a bunch of guys together, on of them is behind the GM screen, the rest are all poring through a vast multitude of books and other RPG paraphernalia.  These positions are set, regardless of the game being played.  The GM is the GM and the players are the players. In my case, not so much.

I know it sounds like I’m complaining and maybe I am, but my group has not one, not two, but 4 GMs – all of whom have games they want to run.  As for me personally, I’m overflowing with different ideas on games to run, settings to put them in, adventures for the various games, etc.  It’s getting a bit crazy.

I like to GM. I never really realized how much I like doing it until after I took my break from running games. I’m enjoying my time as a player and how easy it’s made my life, but I’ve got so many ideas that I want and need to get out of my mind. I want to share my ideas, draw my friends into my worlds, make them apart of them, get them involved in making the set come alive.

It sucks having to compete with your friends for that GM’s chair, it really does. But I’m torn between being selfish and masochistically inflicting a lot of pain and stress on myself again, the pain and stress that comes with running a game, making sure that everyone’s having fun and that I can offer them a game that worth their time and being the guy who’s willing to take his turn and be satisfied with being a player, to sit back, relax and be the kind of player a GM needs and wants at his table.

~ by Xer0 on 10 January, 2011.

One Response to “An Embarrassment of Riches…”

  1. I found that one of the largest challenges was breaking through the thoughts your “players” have of you when then become GM. Take me for example, even as a player I was seen as maniacally evil and expected to throw wrenches into every game as a player. I appreciate the compliment as that was part of my role as the GM (to bring the game world to life and provide a challenge) but I was disheartened that the new GM’s (who was a player in my game) could not see past that when I started to play a different character.

Leave a Reply

 
