Painting, my Dreaded Enemy

Image courtesy of Buckeye Beth

What is it about miniature gaming that drives you up a wall the most?  Is it the rules lawyers?  The cheesy mouthbreathers who only care about winning?  Is it a lack of support for you favorite army? While I do find all of those things to be annoying, none of them match up to what I find to be the most onerous task for a miniatures gamer.  Painting.

And to be honest, it’s not that I hate it.  I just find it to be cumbersome and time consuming and an activity that I just don’t have any patience for nor and burning urge to do.  Hence, my poor Tau, purchased last year from The Broken Forge, still sit in my basement, unpainted and mostly unassembled.  I just can’t muster up the enthusiasm, the desire to sit down and work on them as I should, so that I could paint them.

Now, I know why they sit, ignored and unused down in my basement, there’s a couple of different reasons.  One, as I’ve said before, I find painting to be a pain in the ass and it takes me away from my family.  I don’t get to see The Wife much during the work week, since I’m up so much earlier than she is (my work schedule and she’s on primary baby duty) my work day is longer than most and i’m in bed before 10pm most nights because I’m up early.  It’s a vicious cycle.

I can’t bring them upstairs to paint, I’ve got a cat.  Felines, miniatures and paints do not go well on a dining room table, let me tell you.

Another problem is that painting requires discipline and skill.  You can clearly tell I have no discipline in this regard because I have a ton of unpainted miniatures.  And as for skill, I’m so out of practice, I wouldn’t even know where to start.  That’s one of my problems, I want my minis to look good on the table and I want to paint them and those two things aren’t going to happen at the same time.  Anything I paint will look like crap and that makes the less-rational part of me cry.

I need to paint with other folks, people I can talk to, get advice off of, that sort of thing.  Clearly, painting parties are the way to go in this regard.  But as I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I don’t know a lot of gaming folks up in my part of the world.  I’m working on that and I’m willing to open up the NerdCave to foster a sense of community with these folks, but then my time crunch issue rears its ugly head again.

So, what can I do?  Two things come to mind.  One, I can man up, quit bitching about this painting problem of mine and start to make a dent in all that unpainted plastic I’ve got sitting down in the basement.  I can find some way to make this work.  Secondly, I can farm out my miniatures to a painting service.  I highly recommend The Painting Apothecary.  He’s a talented painter and a very good friend.  You can’t go wrong with this service.

~ by Xer0 on 19 March, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
