RPGaDay, Day One

RPGaDay

Hello there, Dear Reader. In an attempt to get this blogging thing back on the tracks from where it fell off years ago, I’ve decided to partake in 2016’s RPGaDay blogging activity. Today marks Day One, where we’re asked: “Do you prefer to use real dice, a dice application or program, or use a diceless system?”

For me, it’s all about real dice in my gameplay. It’s the ritualistic nature of having a handful of dice and dropping them on the table to see what Fate has in mind for my character. Or in my case, for my player’s characters and my NPCs. There’s something implicitly satisfying about the sound of dice as they rattle in your hand and as they tumble on the tabletop, portending either weal or woe for the player who’s dice have just been cast.

Real dice are the only way to go when it comes to tabletop gaming, but sometimes your players are scattered across the nation and you have to use virtual means to play. In those cases, there’s not a lot of options available to you. You can trust your players (which I do) to roll their dice honestly or you can rely on a dice rolling app, which work really well when dealing with non-standard dice sets (I’m looking at you, Age of Rebellion). I have some issues with dice-rolling apps, primarily with the true randomness of the dice rolls, but virtual dice are better than no dice, which typically leads to no gaming. And I don’t want to not be gaming if I can help it.

~ by Xer0 on 1 August, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
